Dear yogi/nis,

I wanted to take the time to explain a bit more about chakras this month.

There are seven major chakras, and they pinpoint places in the body where energy joins together along the spinal column:
1. Root – (Muladhara) – base of the spine
2. Sacral (Svadhisthana) – lower abdomen
3. Solar plexus (Manipura) – upper abdomen
4. Heart (Anahata) – centre of the chest
5. Throat (Vishuddha) – throat area
6. Third eye (Ajna) – forehead, between the eyebrows
7. Crown (Sahasrara) – the very top of the head

I’ll try to take time to talk about each of the chakras throughout the year; this month the focus is on the root chakra which is situated at the base of the spine.

In Sanskrit it is called Muladhara; Mula means root and adhara means support or base. The root chakra is at the very base of the spine, at the pelvic floor and perineum, in the centre point of our body.

Muladhara’s ‘element’ is Earth. This root chakra is linked to the earth element inside us all; all that is sound and solid. Our physical structure. It is connected to your family and ancestral roots, your parents, your upbringing and your background. It reflects how we interact with the physical world.
Within the physical body, the Muladhara chakra relates to our lower back, our legs, feet and our processes of elimination. Within the emotional body, the Muladhara chakra is linked to whether we are feeling secure and stable in the world, in our own skin.
Within our mental body it influences how we take care of ourselves, whether we belong amongst our community. Once you’ve cleared this energy point, you’ll start to grow in confidence. You’ll begin to accept and love yourself exactly the way you are. And then you’ll accept that everything is as it is – and that it is perfect, at that moment. So first you accept yourself, and then you accept the way life is, and you don’t fight it: instead you go with it, flow with it.

All our habits and addictions come from this area too, and you need to do quite aggressive and physical positions to clear it, working on the legs because you need to be grounded. Some of the poses you are all familiar with that are associated with stimulating this energy point are; warrior poses, Bridge pose, standing forward fold, sun salutation A,B & C, yogic squat, child pose, seated poses and relaxation.

OM Shanti:)